Property Taxes Frequently Asked Questions....
What do I do when I buy property?
The final responsibility is yours, as the new owner, to
see that all the necessary steps have been completed.
The steps are:
1. Record your deed in Probate Court.
2. Assess the property in the Revenue
3. Claim any exemption due you.
4. Make sure all of this is done no later
than December 31 for all property purchased
before October 1, in order to receive a bill
in your name for next year.
5. If your mortgage company has agreed to
pay your property taxes, a copy of the
assessment sheet should be mailed to the
company. This will give them complete
information to request a bill for your
6. Report all address changes promptly.
What are the Classifcation's of Property?
In Alabama property is classified as:
Class I Utility
Class II All other property
Class III Agricultural, Timber, Single family
Multiply the appraised value of property by the proper
classification to calculate assessed value. Taxes are
based on assessed value less exemptions which you
What is a Homestead Exemption?
A homestead exemption is a reduced tax a property owner
may be entitled to if he or she owns a single-family
residence and occupies it on the first day of the tax
year for which they are applying. There are four types
of homestead exemption:
1 . Regular Homestead is available to those
who own and occupy single family residences
and use this property for no other purpose.
The amount of this exemption is $4,000
assessed value for state and $3,000 for
2. Exemption 3 is for persons over age 65 or
who are totally disabled. This exempts all
property taxes on homestead if the taxable
income is less than $12,000.00.
3. Exemption 4 is for persons over 65,
regardless of income. This exemption is for
total state taxes and up to $3,000 assessed
value for county. You will need proof of age
or total and permanent disability and
taxable income. Exemptions should be applied
for before December 31 each year.
What do I do if I add or remove improvements?
The law requires that owner, or their agent, must come
in or notify the Revenue Commissioner's Office no later
than December 31st to sign a new assessment reporting
any improvements made to the property on or before
October 1st of that year.
Do I have to pay taxes on Manufactured Homes?
A property owner who owns a manufactured home, not
rented or leased is required by law to assess in the
Revenue Commission office. The law requires a bill of
sale, title (1990 or newer,) and proof that casual sales
tax has been paid.
In Alabama the collection of property taxes has been a
source of revenue for state and local government for
many years. It is a major source of revenue for public
What is the timetable for collecting taxes?
Taxes are collected on the following schedule for the
year that ended on September 30th:
Citation Fee Added
Advertised for Sale
What are the methods of payment to pay my taxes?
1. Taxes are due every year October 1 and
are delinquent after the 31st of December.
2. Payments are made as follows:
a. In person. Come to the Revenue
Commissioner's Office and make
payment by cash, check, money order
or debit/credit card.
b. By mail. Payments may be paid by
c. Online. Search and pay online at
d. Ask your mortgage company to pay
3. If you purchased property during the
year, make sure the taxes are paid. The bill
will usually be in the previous owner's name
since taxes are assessed for the previous
year. You are responsible for taxes on
property you own, regardless of how the tax
bill may be listed.