- No will -
Outstanding original title, MVT 5-6 (Next of kin)
Form completed and notarized, copy of death
- Probated will
- Outstanding certificate of title properly assigned
by the executor, letters of testamentary or letters
- Will (not
probated) - Outstanding certificate of title
properly assigned by executor, copy of death
certificate, copy of the entire will
There is an $19.25
title transfer application fee. If you buy a vehicle from a
dealer, they are required by law to collect the sales
tax due. If you buy a vehicle from another individual,
sales tax will be collected at the time title is
transferred. The following sales tax rates apply: State
- 2% Lauderdale County - ╝ (.25)% - Municipal - varies
according to municipality (maximum is 2%).
Questions Related to Titles:
The Lauderdale County License Commissioner's Office will
be happy to assist you with any question you may have
related to obtaining a title for your vehicle. The
answers to many of the frequently asked questions that
our office receives, related to titles, can be found
below. If you do not find the answer to your question
below, please email us or call (256) 760-5833. We will
be happy to assist you.
What is the
procedure to get a replacement title and how much does
A completed application
title replacement (MVT 12-1 Form) is mailed directly
by you to the State Department of Motor Vehicles along
with a $15.00 cashier's check or money order made
payable to the Alabama Department of Revenue. These
forms are available at the Lauderdale County License
Commissioner's Office. The replacement title is mailed
to the applicant normally within 2 or 3 weeks.
I've just bought a
vehicle from an individual. How long do I have to
transfer the title?
Vehicles must be
transferred within 20 calendar days of the date of
purchase to avoid penalties. The title transfer fee is $19.25.
The penalty for failure to transfer a vehicle within the
time allowed by law is $19.00.
I just moved to
Lauderdale County from another state. How long do I have
to register my vehicles?
New Alabama residents
have 30 calendar days to register vehicles if their
out-of-state tags are valid.
How long before I
receive my Certificate of Title in the mail?
After the application
is made and approved, the State of Alabama will mail the
title directly to the registered owner or lien holder
normally within 4 to 5 weeks.
I am paying by check
for a new title at the Lauderdale County Courthouse.
Who should my check be made payable to?
Your check should be
payable to: Rodney Pettus, License Commissioner. No
counter checks or out-of-county/state checks are
Do you take credit
Yes. We accept Mastercard, Visa, American Express, Discover, and debit cards. There will be a 2.5% fee on each transaction.